The Frederick Smith Secondary School (formerly St. James Secondary School) admitted its first students on the 17th of September 1979, with Mr. Warren Thorpe as the first Principal. It was officially opened by the Honourable Louis Tull, M.P., Minister of Education, on the 19th of September 1980. The School is a co-educational institution with a dynamic curriculum which is enriched through a Guidance Programme and a number of extra-curricular activities. The student body ranges in age from 11 plus to age 17. Admission to the school is based on parent choice and student performance in the National Examination for determining entry to public secondary schools.